Click on Title to view full description

 - 3 items found in your search
1 Camus, Albert; O'Brien, Justin (translated From The French by) The Fall and Exile and the Kingdom
This volume contains a book of fiction (The Fall) and a book of short stories (Exile and the Kingdom) . The Fall is a philosophical novel. First published in 1956, it is his last complete work of fiction. Set in Amsterdam, The Fall consists of a series of dramatic monologues by the self-proclaimed "judge-penitent" Jean-Baptiste Clamence, as he reflects upon his life to a stranger. In what amounts to a confession, Clamence tells of his success as a wealthy Parisian defense lawyer who was highly respected by his colleagues; his crisis, and his ultimate "fall" from grace, was meant to invoke, in secular terms, The Fall of Man in the Garden of Eden. The Exile and the Kingdom is a 1957 collection of six short stories. These stories cover the whole variety of existentialism, or absurdism, as Camus himself insisted his philosophical ideas be called. The clearest manifestation of the ideals of Camus can be found in the story "La Pierre qui pousse (The Growing Stone) . " 361 pages with an additional 10 pages of Modern Library listings. Includes the back flap of the jacket, a short biography of the author. Bright red cloth cover. 5" x 7 1/4" high
The Modern Library
New York, 1958, 

Price: 13.80 USD
Add to Cart
The Seed: Finding Purpose and Happiness in Life and Work, Gordon, Jon
2 Gordon, Jon The Seed: Finding Purpose and Happiness in Life and Work
From the international and Wall Street Journal best-selling author of The Energy Bus, The Seed takes you on an enlightening and life-changing quest to find passion, purpose, and happiness in your life and work. An up and comer in a company has lost his passion at work. His boss tells him to take two weeks off to decide if he really wants to work there, so he takes off for the country, where he meets a wise farmer who gives him a seed and a promise. As he travels the country, you'll find surprising new sources of wisdom and encouragement in your own work and life. Listed at the end are other books by the same author. ; 8vo - over 7¾ - 9¾" tall
John Wiley & Sons Inc
Hoboken, NJ, 2011, not specified>
As New in As New dust jacket

Price: 12.88 USD
Add to Cart
3 Proust, Marcel; Moncrieff, C. K. Scott (translated From The French by) The Sweet Cheat Gone
The Sweet Cheat Gone is the sixth of the seven volumes of Marcel Proust's life work under the general title of Remembrance of Things Past. This is a complete, unabridged volume and a separate entity, and yet is an integral part of the grand design of Proust's modern masterpiece. This book was published in 1925, after Proust's death. 379 pages with 2 pages of Modern Library listings. The binding is red cloth. 5" x 7 1/4" high
The Modern Library
New York, 1930, 
As New

Price: 20.24 USD
Add to Cart